Calcium/Calmodulin-Dependent Protein Kinase

Calcium/Calmodulin-Dependent Protein Kinase

  • Name
  • Description
  • Cat#
  • Pricings
  • Quantity

About Calcium/Calmodulin Dependent Protein Kinase:

 CAMK, which is also commonly written as CaMK, which is the shortcut for the enzyme class known as the Ca2+/calmodulin-dependent protein kinase class. An increase in intracellular calcium ions (Ca2+) concentration causes the activation of CAMKs. When CAMKs are activated, the phosphates transfer from ATP to define threonine or serine residues into different proteins. Activated CAMK plays a role in the phosphorylation of transcription factors, and therefore, in the responding genes expression regulation. There are a lot of different members of this enzyme class. This includes SCAMK, CAMKIV, CAMKIII, CAMKII, which falls into CAMKIIγ, CAMKIIδ, CAMKIIβ, and CAMKIIα, as well as CAMKI, which falls into CAMKIγ, CAMKIδ, CAMKIβ, and CAMKIα. There are 2 main Ca2+/calmodulin-dependent protein kinase class

CaMKI is an enzyme that is encoded by the CAMK1 gene in humans. It is a component of the calmodulin-dependent protein kinase and it is expressed in a lot of different tissues. Calcium/calmodulin-dependent protein kinase I is directly activated by calcium/calmodulin through the enzyme being bound. This indirectly leads to the promotion of synergistic activation and phosphorylation of the enzyme by calcium/calmodulin-dependent protein kinase I kinase.

Calcium/Calmodulin Dependent Protein Kinase, which is often shortened to CaMKII or CaM kinase II, is a protein kinase, which is threonine/serine-specific. The Ca2+ calmodulin complex regulates Calcium/Calmodulin Dependent Protein Kinase is thought to be a vital mediator when it comes to memory and learning, and it is incorporated in a lot of signaling cascades. It is also vital for Ca2+ homeostasis, as well as CD8 T-cell activation, positive T-cell selection, chloride transport in epithelia, and reuptake in cardiomyocytes. If it is not regulated properly, it is linked to heart arrhythmia, Angelman syndrome, and Alzheimer’s disease.
There are two different types of CaM kinase. The first is multifunctional CaM kinases. These are also known collectively as CaM kinase II. They play a key role in glycogen metabolism, transcription factor regulation, and neurotransmitter secretion. The other type of CaM is specialized CaM kinases. An example of this is myosin light chain kinase, which phosphorylates myosin. This causes the contraction of smooth muscles.
In the brain, there are many different proteins, and CaMK accounts for around one to two percent of all of them. It has 28 various isoforms. The isoform derives from the delta, gamma, beta, and alpha genes. All of the CaMK isoforms have a self-association domain, variable segment, autoinhibitory domain, and a catalytic domain. There are several binding sites in the catalytic domain for ATP and different substrate anchor proteins.